2015 Missing Middle Housing Design Competition Award Winners

$10,000 Cash Prize for First Place Motivated Architects and Design Students from Around the World

The 2015 MIplace “Missing Middle” Housing Design Competition concluded with the Awards Symposium held on Tuesday, June 23, at One Woodward in Detroit. The five winning designs and the designers were recognized at the event. First place winner, Niko Tiula, principal of Tiula Arthitects in El Paso, Texas and Helsinki, Finland, delivered a comprehensive presentation of his winning design. Tiula traveled from Helsinki to receive his award, including a check for $10,000.

This first-ever “Missing Middle” Housing Design Competition was the cooperative work of numerous sponsoring organizations. The primary planning groups included: AIA Michigan, Michigan State Housing Development Authority, MSU’s Land Policy Institute, Michigan Municipal League and the Michigan Chapter of the Congress for the New Urbanism. In addition, other endorsing sponsors included the Michigan Historic Preservation Network, Michigan Association of Planning, Habitat for Humanity of Michigan and the Community Economic Development Association of Michigan.

During the nine month period of the competition’s planning and execution, Dennis M. King, FAIA, public policy director for AIA Michigan, served as the advisor and facilitator of the design competition.

In summarizing the design competition and the sponsoring organizations during the Awards Symposium, King said, “the cooperation, collaboration and enthusiastic support of this group of sponsors was unequalled in my experience. To successfully design and conduct a ground-breaking international design competition like this one required a tremendous amount of labor and financial support, and the individuals representing these organizations were exemplary in that regard. In particular, I want to personally thank and recognize Jim Tischler of MSHDA, Mark Wyckoff of MSU LPI, Luke Forrest of MML and Amanda Harrell-Seyburn representing both MiCNU and AIA Michigan for their selflessness in crafting this important program.”

First Place
Niko Tiula, principal of Tiula Arthitects in El Paso, Texas and Helsinki, Finland

2nd Place
Mark Farlow, Amy Chesterton and Corissa Leveille, of Hamilton Anderson Associates, Detroit, Michigan

3rd Place
Jennifer Settle and Brian Settle, of Chicago, Illinois

4th Place
Brandon Clear, an architecture student in Berrien Springs, Michigan

Honorable Mention
Sang Oh Choo, d'studio architecture pc, in New York, New York

Back to previous page